Dormitory 2nd Division in the Ship, used as a dorm until 1912 when O'Connor Hall opened. With the construction of O'Connor Hall, Seniors enjoyed the privacy of two-man rooms. Other students continued to share common sleeping quarters.
On back of the photograph, "First regular switch engine in San Jose Yard. A switch engine was put on in 1886 for 3 months in the fall. Photo taken 8/8/1887. The San Mateo, D. M. Manhive-engineer; H. Haggerty-fireman, J. Grismer-foreman, J....
Santa Clara University (Calif.); Cornerstone laying; Santa Clara (Calif.);
The Alameda is in the background. Beyond it is Eberhard Tannery. Kenna Hall briefly served as the headquarters for the prep school, later as the freshmen dorm and classroom building, then as the Leavey School of Business.